Last Day at Yahoo! Farewell email from my manager

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #666; }
.flickr-yourcomment { }
.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }
.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }



04 My Yahoo Cubicle, originally uploaded by cloneofsnake.

Last Friday was my entire team’s last day at Yahoo! It has been a fun ride… My professional life has grown exponentially during my 5+ years of service there, and the main reason why I was able to achieve so much was because I was lucky enough to report to Phil Eisenberg for the first 3 years I was there. I’m forever grateful for having the opportunity to work with him.

On Friday, Phil came over to chat with us and also to me individually. (We had kept in contact over the past 2 years even if we weren’t working together anymore.) Before I left for the day, I sent out my farewell email to the remaining few old timers that still remain, and Phil replied with something that I thought would be great reference material to put on my LinkedIn profile.

—– Forwarded Message —-
From: Phillip Eisenberg
To: Nicholas Wang
Sent: Friday, June 15, 2007 6:19:23 PM
Subject: RE: Farewell

Nick,

Thank you for all your contributions through the years. You certainly made me look good as we grew the data quality department and made my job easier and many others as well. I hope you got as much out of the experience of working together as I did.

Good luck with your future endeavors and don’t be shy about going after what you want. I have worked with many talented folks over the years and you are very high on that list, so never doubt your abilities.

Keep in touch and let me know if you ever need anything.

Regards,

Phil

I have to write something back as a token of appreciation. Fortunately, it will be very easy, as I had started documenting a list called “Management 101” during my days reporting to Phil. He is like a “wise old man” that leads by example, except he’s not old. 🙂 I filled 3 pages of the word document with things I’ve learned from him!! I’ll be using that to write him a recommendation on LinkedIn.

I guess I’ll post that document here too, so check back later for “Management 101 from Phil”! 🙂

About

Just another guy trying to beat the system and be released from the Matrix http://about.me/nicholaswang

Posted in networking, Reference, wisdom, Work
My Flickr

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
