Amex Starwood Preferred Guest Credit Card

I posted this on flyertalk’s forum but didn’t get an answer. However, from what I’ve read so far, seems like this American Express card is still pretty damn good. Right now, I’m just using my 1% coupon back Amazon.com Visa, a possible 5% cash back Discover… if the restaurant is nice enough to take Discover, and the Costco Amex with its incredibly convenient Costco rebates. Just for my own records, I’m copying my post here. Also, here’s another great resource on Bonus Points Opportunities.

Noob here. I’m doing research on which mileage card to get… so, sounds like SPG was da bomb, but not as good anymore… however… it’s still pretty good ~~ and there’s no one King of the Hill anymore. Right?

Here’s a link to the “Starpoints for Rooms” comparison.

Here’s a link to its partners.

As far as I can tell, most of the airlines are still doing 1:1 transfer of Starpoints to miles. For example:

American Airlines AAdvantage

With American Airlines, you can transfer up to 99,999 Starpoints® into AAdvantage® Miles at a 1-to-1 ratio. And for every 20,000 Starpoints transferred you’ll earn 5,000 bonus Starpoints, which will be automatically added to your transfer. For complete details about the AAdvantage program, visit http://www.aa.com. There is no minimum point transfer requirement for Platinum members. Gold members have a minimum point transfer of 1,500 Starpoints and Preferred members have a minimum point transfer of 2,500.

Isn’t this still a good deal? Besides UA and CO, where else has SPG decreased in value?

For a noob, should I still get this card??

Thanks!!!

About

Just another guy trying to beat the system and be released from the Matrix http://about.me/nicholaswang

Posted in credit card, mileage, money, Travel
My Flickr

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
