Oracle, DataStage, Japanese – What I’ll do so I can get the job next time!

Since yesterday’s disastrous interview, I seriously thought about what happened, and came up with a plan to address the problems.

    Oracle

  • I need to put Oracle way up there on my resume! Right now, I have SQL Server and MySQL listed. With Oracle, it’s not like I don’t know it, I just don’t work with it everyday. I did create a whole bunch of queries to export data from Oracle, but I do all of the data manipulation in SQL Server after the data are imported there. This situation is only going to get worse, as Hotjobs is in the middle of moving both the CRM and web apps onto new platforms, which will be moved to Yahoo!’s main campus in California. The old databases are being phased out after the migration. I had just lost my access to the Oracle reporting database last month!! So, I need to do something to regain, no, UPGRADE my Oracle skills! My solution? I’m going to install an instance of 10g on my personal Linux box. I’ll go through this book (Expert Oracle Database Architecture: 9i and 10g Programming Techniques and Solutions) cover to cover. Much like the way I learned SQL Server 7 back in the days at Microsoft.
  • DataStage

  • I was asked about it, I’ve never used it, I know that it is being used in our new platform to import data into the data warehouse. I understand the ETL process and like I said, I do it manually by looking at database diagrams, query the data and spool the results into text files, FTP them into a central location, import into a staging database and manipulate the data, then finally, myself and others query against the final results for reports. Today, I did a little research on DataStage, found a tutorial on IBM’s website, read through the PDF. As I’ve suspected, it provides an easy to use UI to do basically what I do manually. Just like First Logic and Business Objects, a couple of training sessions should get me going on this no problem!
  • Japanese

  • Finally, the biggest problem! In the interview, I was told that they need a “native speaker”… well, I’m not a native speaker… but, what’s the definition of a “native speaker” aside from being Japanese? My reading comprehension is fine, I’ve read user comments and booked ryokans and hotels on Japanese travel sites, communicate in Japanese with people in Japan and with my Japanese friends here in New York. So, is “being able to communicate” good enough? While other people might have lied and just say they’re “native speaker”, I’m just not the kind of guy that can lie like that. So, I’ll let others be the judge. I’ve hired an experience tutor here who’ll test me in a mock interview tomorrow. Let’s see what the result will be! Anyways, whatever the result might be, I’ve decided that I’ll get serious and pass the JLPT Level 2 exam this year. I’ll take that as a “certificate of native speaking level”.
Posted in Thoughts, Work
My Flickr
2015-11-06 15.35.30 LEGO Compatible Room

Wang Hugming (Aster?) Hello World

Chocolate ice cream

More Photos

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
